PayTechTalk 51: Small donation – Big impact: SmallChangeCard – OpenStreetPay brings digital change to homeless people

PayTechTalk 51 | OpenStreetPay | PayTechLaw

Every crisis hits society‘s most vulnerable members the hardest. The Corona crisis is no different and consequences of the lockdown are being felt and discussed everywhere. However, one group of people who is regularly left out of the public debate is homeless people and how they are affected by the crisis. People are not out perusing the high street shops so homeless people stand next to no chance of any passers-by tossing a few coins into their hat. This is where OpenStreetPay comes in. OpenStreetPay (under development) is a digital platform for cashless donations to homeless people.

The idea: Donations to homeless people can be made for any amount, indirectly and contactless via app or a QR code – and with this conform to Corona rules. The intention is that people in need will receive the SmallChangeCard via a network of charitable organisations. This is then used to distribute a set amount every day from all donations received to all card holders. They can redeem this at participating partners, such as supermarkets or food stands. OpenStreetPay wants to enable cashless payments for homeless people via a non-stigmatising and contactless method to pay, thereby also enabling them to participate more in society in post-Corona times.

This video shows how all this can work:

The team behind OpenStreetPay comes from a multitude of different backgrounds and includes volunteers from various industries such as developers, service, UI, UX, communication, brand and interface designers as well as scientists  and project managers from all over Germany. They met during the “wirvsvirus hackathon“ organised by the Federal German Government, where they developed a first prototype within 48 hours.

Now, during the project implementation phase, technical problems as well as ethical have come to the fore. Legal issues, in particular, need to be considered. In particular, the team faces significant challenges under payment services law.

In our 51st episode of PayTechTalk I will be talking to Larissa Gebken, one of OpenStreetPay‘s organisers as well as my colleage Kemal Ahmedi who is looking into the project from a legal perspective.

By the way: OpenStreetPay is still looking for participants from the payment industry who would like to support the project with their know how, or via a cooperation or with any other good ideas. Maybe one of our listeners would like to join this great project and support it with their expertise and get socially engaged. Simple contact us and we’d be happy to forward your contact details!

Enjoy listening to our 51st episode of PayTechTalk.

Please note that the podcast is in German.

About Larissa Gebken

Larissa Gebken is a research associate at the University of Hamburg and a volunteer member of the OpenStreetPay team. Her research includes such topics as digital social innovations and how they can be sustainably and responsibly integrated into an existing ecosystem.

 

About OpenStreetPay

OpenStreetPay is a team comprising members from various different backgrounds who met during the “wirvsvirus hackathon“. It is their goal to develop a digital platform that enables cashless donations to and payments for homeless people. Donations can be made directly and contactless to those in need via app or QR code.

OpenStreetPay online

 

Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

PayTechTalk 51: Kleine Spende – große Wirkung: SmallChangeCard – OpenStreetPay bringt digitales Kleingeld zu den obdachlosen Menschen

PayTechTalk 51 | OpenStreetPay | PayTechLaw

Jede Krise trifft vor allem die schwächsten Mitglieder einer Gesellschaft. Mit der Corona-Krise ist es nicht anders und die Auswirkungen des Lockdowns werden allerorts diskutiert. Wer allerdings oftmals aus dem öffentlichen Diskurs fällt, sind die Auswirkungen der Krise auf unsere obdachlosen Mitbürger:innen. Denn wo keine Menschen mehr in den Einkaufsstraßen dieses Landes unterwegs sind, ist auch die Möglichkeit, Kleingeld für den Hut zu bekommen, fast auf Null gesetzt. Hier setzt OpenStreetPay an. OpenStreetPay ist eine (sich gerade noch im Aufbau befindende) digitale Plattform für bargeldloses Spenden an obdachlose Menschen.

Die Idee: Spender:innen sollen per App oder QR-Code – und damit Corona-krisenkonform indirekt und kontaktlos – Obdachlosen einen Betrag nach Wahl spenden können. Über die SmallChangeCard, die Bedürftige über ein Netzwerk karitativer Einrichtungen erhalten sollen, soll täglich ein festgelegter Betrag aus diesem Spendentopf gleichermaßen an alle Karteninhaber:innen verteilt werden. Diesen können sie bei teilnehmenden Partnern, wie z.B. Supermärkten oder Imbissbuden, einlösen. Damit möchte OpenStreetPay bargeldloses Zahlen für Obdachlose und eine nicht stigmatisierende kontaktlose Bezahlmöglichkeit schaffen, um damit auch in einer Nach-Corona Zeit mehr gesellschaftliche Teilhabe zu ermöglichen.

Wie das Ganze funktionieren kann, zeigt dieser kleine Film:

Das bunt gemischte Team hinter OpenStreetPay besteht aus Ehrenamtlichen verschiedener Bereiche, Entwicklern, Service-, UI-, UX-, Kommunikations-, Marken- und Interface-Designern, Forschern und Projektmanagement aus ganz Deutschland. Kennengelernt haben sie sich während des wirvsvirus-Hackathons der Bundesregierung, wo sie binnen 48 Stunden den ersten Prototyp entwickelt haben.

Im Rahmen der Projektumsetzung tauchen nun nicht nur technische Probleme und ethische Grundsatzfragen auf. Vor allem die rechtliche Komponente ist nicht außer Acht zu lassen. Hier stellt vornehmlich das Zahlungsdiensterecht das Team vor große Herausforderungen.

In der 51. Episode von PayTechTalk spreche ich mit Larissa Gebken, eine der Organisatorinnen von OpenStreetPay und meinem Kollegen Kemal Ahmedi, der sich rechtlich mit dem Projekt beschäftigt.

Übrigens: OpenStreetPay sucht noch nach Mitstreitern aus der Zahlungsbranche, die mit Know-how oder einer Kooperation oder anderen guten Ideen, das Projekt fördern möchten. Vielleicht findet sich ja hier jemand aus unserem Zuhörerkreis, der/die sich bei diesem wunderbaren Projekt sowohl mit den passenden Kompetenzen als auch sozial engagieren möchte. Einfach bei uns melden, wir leiten den Kontakt gerne weiter!

Viel Spaß beim Zuhören der 51. Episode von PayTechTalk.

 

Über Larissa Gebken

Larissa Gebken ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Universität Hamburg und ehrenamtlich Teil des OpenStreetPay-Teams. In Ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sie sich mit dem Themengebiet der digitalen sozialen Innovationen und wie diese nachhaltig und verantwortlich in ein bestehendes Ökosystem integriert werden können.

Über OpenStreetPay

OpenStreetPay ist ein bunt zusammengemischtes Team, das sich während des wirvsvirus Hackathons fand. Unser Ziel ist es eine digitale Plattform zu entwickeln, die bargeldloses Spenden an und Zahlen für obdachlose Menschen zu ermöglichen. Damit soll es den Spender*innen direkt per App oder QR-Code kontaktlos der*dem Bedürftigen einen Betrag spenden können.

OpenStreetPay im Web

 

Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen