Screen Scraping | PayTechLaw

Screen Scraping is dead – long live Screen Scraping!

A heated debate has been going on for years as to whether account information services providers (AISP) and payment initiation services providers (PISP) and card based payment instrument issuers (CBPII) may use screen scraping as a means of accessing the payment user’s account at their payment account service provider (ASPSP). With PSD2 and more specifically, the Regulatory Technical Standards on Strong Customer Authentication and Common and Secure Communication (RTS on SCA and CSC), the demise of screen scraping seemed to be here. However, recently the EBA published Guidelines on the exemption from the contingency mechanism under Art. 33 (6) RTS on SCA & CSC, which allow screen scraping as a fallback option.

What’s Screen Scraping?

Screen Scraping is a method to make automated use of a website by impersonating a web browser to perform tasks on that website that are usually manually performed by a user. It allows a different user interface for the user than the original website. One example in the context of PSD2 is that a PISP may use the credentials provided by a payment user to automatically access the ASPSP’s banking system by “pretending” to be the user in order to initiate a payment from the user’s account.

Desired end state: dedicated interface

If and when an ASPSP is providing a dedicated interface to AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs, it may limit access to its account to the dedicated interface only if it is able to prove to have met all regulatory requirements. If these requirements are not met, the ASPSP has to allow screen scraping as a fallback option.

Identify yourself!

There is one notable difference to the screen scraping as described above, though. AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs need to identify themselves vis-à-vis the ASPSP, they may not impersonate the payment user but need to employ eIDAS compliant certificates to identify themselves. For this purpose, the EBA has issued some more guidance on the use of eIDAS certificates in the context of PSD2.

Exemption from the fallback option

If an ASPSP does not want to allow screen scraping as a fallback option, it needs to meet all requirements pursuant to Article 33 (6) RTS on SCA and CSC.

Firstly, this means defining and keeping transparent key performance indicators and service levels. The Guidelines now issued by the EBA set out some of the key performance indicators like uptimes, downtimes, response times, and out of hours support and ways to calculate them.

Secondly, this means that the ASPSP has to stress test its dedicated interface. The stress testing needs to include access by multiple AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs, as well as high volumes of requests and high volumes of data. While the RTS on SCA and CSC generally do not take effect prior to 14 September 2019, the requirement to carry out testing for at least 6 months effectively moves the deadline for ASPSPs to 14 March 2019 to have their dedicated interface ready.

Thirdly, the ASPSP needs to prove wide usage of the interface for a period of 3 months. This means that the ASPSP should offer its interface to AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs by means of appropriate communication such as website, social media, conferences etc. However, if in a certain market there are no or only few AISPs, PISPs or CBPIIs active, the widely used requirement may be reduced considerably.

Finally, the ASPSP is required to offer and report on problem resolution mechanisms to deal with any problems reported by AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs and to prove that it has already resolved issues during the testing phase.

No obstacles

Irrespective of whether an ASPSP only offers a dedicated interface or not, it has to prove to its competent regulator that the method of authentication (irrespective of interface, redirection, embedded or other) does not pose an obstacle to the payment service user’s choice to employ the services of a AISP, PISP or CBPII. This means inter alia that APSPS may not request additional authorizations nor check the consent given by the payment service user.

All in all, this seems to be a green light for AISPs, PISPs and CBPIIs but it remains to be seen if and when such services will pick up and become more popular with payment service users because so far there has been a lot of theory around open banking but only very few practical applications.

 

Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia /trendobjects

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Screen Scraping | PayTechLaw

Screen Scraping ist tot – lange lebe Screen Scraping!

Seit Jahren wird heiß diskutiert, ob Konteninformationsdienstleister (KID), Zahlungsauslösedienstleister (ZAD) und Herausgeber von kartengebundenen Zahlungsinstrumenten (HKZ) Screen Scraping nutzen dürfen, um Zugang zu einem Konto eines Zahlungsdienstnutzers bei dessen kontoführenden Zahlungsdienstleister zu erhalten. PSD2 und insbesondere die regulatorischen technischen Standards zu sicherer Kundenauthentifizierung und allgemeiner und sicherer Kommunikation (Regulatory Technical Standards on Strong Customer Authentication and Common and Secure Communication / RTS on SCA and CSC) schienen das Ableben von Screen Scraping eingeläutet zu haben. Nichtsdestotrotz hat die EBA kürzlich ihre Guidelines on the exemption from the contingency mechanism under Art. 33 (6) RTS on SCA & CSC veröffentlicht, die Screen Scraping als Ersatzoption erlauben.

Was ist Screen Scraping?

Screen Scraping ist eine Methode, mit der man eine Website automatisiert nutzen kann, indem man einen Webbrowser imitiert, um Tätigkeiten auf der Website auszuführen, die normalerweise manuell von einem Nutzer vorgenommen werden. Dies ermöglicht daher eine andere Benutzeroberfläche für den Nutzer als die Originalwebsite. Ein Beispiel im Kontext von PSD2 ist, dass ein ZAD etwa die vom Nutzer zur Verfügung gestellten Sicherheitsmerkmale nutzen kann, um automatisch auf das Bankensystem des kontoführenden Zahlungsdienstleister zuzugreifen, indem er sich als der Nutzer „ausgibt“, um einen Zahlungsvorgang über das Konto des Nutzers auszulösen.

Angestrebter Endzustand: dedizierte Schnittstelle

Ob und wenn ein kontoführender Zahlungsdienstleister eine dedizierte Schnittstelle für KIDs, ZADs und HKZs zur Verfügung stellt, dann kann er den Zugang nur zu seinen Konten nur dann auf die dedizierte Schnittstelle beschränken, wenn er beweisen kann, dass er alle regulatorischen Voraussetzungen erfüllt hat. Ist dies nicht der Fall, muss der kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleister Screen Scraping als Ersatzoption erlauben.

Identifizieren Sie sich!

Es gibt jedoch einen wesentlichen Unterschied zum oben beschriebenen Screen Scraping. KIDs, ZADs und HKZs müssen sich gegenüber dem kontoführenden Zahlungsdienstleister identifizieren. Sie dürfen sich also nicht als der Zahlungsdienstnutzer ausgeben, sondern müssen der eIDAS-Verordnung entsprechende Zertifikate verwenden, um sich zu identifizieren. Aus diesem Grund hat die EBA eine weitere Handlungsempfehlung zur Nutzung von eIDA-Zertifikaten im Kontext der PSD2 (guidance on the use of eIDAS certificates) veröffentlicht.

Befreiung von der Ersatzoption

Wenn ein kontoführender Zahlungsdienstleister Screen Scraping nicht als Ersatzoption erlauben möchte, muss er alle Voraussetzungen gemäß Art. 33 (6) RTS on SCA and CSC erfüllen.

Das bedeutet erstens, transparente Key Performance Indikatoren und Service Level zu definieren und aufrechtzuerhalten. Die nun von der EBA veröffentlichten Richtlinien nennen einige der Key Performance Indikatoren, wie verfügbare Betriebszeiten, Ausfallzeiten, Reaktionszeiten und Support außerhalb der Arbeitszeiten und wie diese zu berechnen sind.

Zweitens bedeutet das, dass der kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleister seine dedizierte Schnittstelle einem Stresstest unterziehen muss. Dieser Stresstest muss den Zugriff mehrerer KIDs, ZADs und HKZs sowie ein großes Volumen an Anfragen und ein großes Volumen von Daten beinhalten. Während die RTS on SCA and CSC generell nicht vor dem 14. September 2019 Wirkung entfalten, verlagert die Anforderung sechs Monate lang getestet zu haben, die Deadline für kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleister ihre dedizierte Schnittstelle fertig zu haben, tatsächlich auf den 14. März 2019 vor.

Drittens muss der kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleiter eine breite Nutzung der dedizierten Schnittstelle über einen Zeitraum von drei Monaten nachweisen. Das bedeutet, dass der kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleister die Möglichkeit der Nutzung seiner Schnittstelle für KIDs, ZAGs und HKZs in angemessener Form bekannt machen muss, wie etwa über eine Website, Soziale Medien, Konferenzen etc. Allerdings kann das Erfordernis einer breiten Nutzung erheblich reduziert werden, wenn auf einem bestimmten Markt keine oder nur wenige KIDs, ZAGs oder KHZs aktiv sind.

Zuletzt muss der kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleister Problemlösungsmechanismen anbieten und zu diesen berichten, um etwaige Probleme, die von KIDs, ZAGs und HKZs gemeldet wurden, in den Griff zu bekommen und um zu beweisen, dass während der Testphase auftretende Schwierigkeiten bereits gelöst wurden.

Keine Hindernisse

Ungeachtet ob ein kontoführender Zahlungsdienstleiter nur eine dedizierte Schnittstelle anbietet oder nicht, muss er seiner zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörde nachweisen, dass die Authentifizierungsmethode (gleich ob Schnittstelle, Re-direct, integriert oder auf andere Weise) für den Zahlungsdienstnutzer kein Hindernis darstellt, sich für die Dienste eines KIDs, ZAGs oder HKZs zu entscheiden. Das bedeutet unter anderem, dass kontoführende Zahlungsdienstleister weder zusätzliche Autorisierungen verlangen, noch die Einwilligung des Zahlungsdienstnutzers überprüfen dürfen.

Alles in allem scheint dies der Startschuss für KIDs, ZAGs und HKZs. Jedoch bleibt abzuwarten, ob und wann die Zahl solcher Dienstleistungen steigen wird und ob sie unter Zahlungsdienstnutzern populärer werden, denn bisher gibt es viel Theorie zum Open Banking, aber nur sehr wenige praktische Anwendungen.

 

Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia /trendobjects

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.