CESOP | PayTechLaw

Open CESOP: The Commission’s new data collection frenzy

First, the bad news:  The Commission has again looked more closely into cross-border (or more simply “XB”) payments in the EU. It is planning a supranational database known as “CESOP” (“Central Electronic System of Payment Information”) under its supervision. From January 2022, XB payment data of all payment service providers (credit institutions, payment and e-money institutions) in the EU will be stored on there. Its aim is to facilitate the search for VAT fraudsters in XB e-commerce.

A few weeks ago, the Commission successfully passed EU Regulation 2019/518. This regulation governs price equality for XB payments in euros compared to domestic transactions, even for payment service providers in non-euro countries. Additionally, card issuers and Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC) providers must provide cardholders with detailed information about the applicable conditions at the POS or ATM. We have already discussed the regulation in this blog, which has a significant impact, particularly on the card business (see my entry on Reg. 924).

Supranational data retention in CESOP

The new proposal cooked up in the Commission’s Advent kitchen (December 2018) concerns the following personal and company-related payment data which is recorded on the payee’s side: amount, date and time, name and VAT ID. This is because it is in these areas where potential VAT fraudsters are based, in the form of e-commerce traders offering goods and services across borders. The fraud is roughly estimated to amount to €5 billion per year. Today, where they come across suspicious circumstances during tax audits, national tax authorities have to request the relevant payment data from the payment service providers involved and cooperate with their colleagues in other member states. However, this is a tedious procedure for the officials involved. It will of course be easier and much more efficient if in future all XB payment data is stored in a supranational database. Moreover, such a database, which is permanently fed by payment service providers, opens up completely new possibilities in tracking down fraudsters with the help of artificial intelligence.

The data input is to be supplied from both sides of the market. Obligations are placed on the payment service providers (PSPs) of the payer as well as the payee. Nearly all PSPs listed in the appendix to PSD2 are affected, with the exception of PSPs for cash deposits and disbursements and the “new” PSPs (payment initiation and account information services). In an ideal scenario, each payment transaction is therefore reported from both sides. The data is then “matched” and adjusted in the CESOP database. Considering the objective of the whole campaign, tax investigators are actually only looking for the C2B payment data generated in e-commerce transactions: where the payer is a consumer in Member State A, the payee is an online merchant in country B (member state or not). Since this user role cannot be identified when looking at a set of data, as a consequence all data is recorded as a precautionary measure, including B2B, C2C, etc. Even XB card payments at the physical POS are affected. This is, of course, absurd as the aim is only to combat VAT fraud in e-commerce. And what were the principles of the EU GDPR again? Ah, yes: data economy and data minimisation. Another question: Why is data retention at a decentralised level at the relevant PSPs not sufficient? The transmission of all telecommunications data by telecommunication companies to Europol would certainly also be a very effective means against evil Islamists. It would seem that it is not only the danger of terrorism but also tax evasion that justifies many means.

Does this mean that data protectionists are running riot? Not so far. The European Data Protection Supervisor was well behaved and waved the proposal through without raising his finger.

Methodological weaknesses

Apart from these general issues, the proposal also shows methodological weaknesses. In order to prevent the CESOP from bursting, the intention is to introduce a minimum threshold for data collection: 25 XB payments to the same payee per quarter per PSP. This would be a good idea if it were not for the fact that this minimum threshold is intended to apply not only to the PSP of the payee but also to the PSP of the payer. The volume of data provided by the payers’ PSP depends on its size or the market concentration of the PSPs in a country and is therefore arbitrary.

A further weakness is the assumption that the residence of the payer and the payee in a member state is identical to the domestic registered seat of the relevant PSP. This runs counter to the central aim of several of the EU’s past regulatory projects to promote the cross-border use of PSPs within the EU as a single payment transaction area. As a result, many actual (and for VAT purposes) domestic transactions are deemed to be XB transactions and vice versa. For example: cardholders and traders are in Austria, but the acquirers in Germany.

Does this mean the affected (many thousand) PSPs in the EU are running riot? There were some public consultations in the run-up to the December proposal as well as after its publication. In the run-up, response from the industry was minimal (3 statements). One PSP, however, estimated the internal costs for data collection and provision at 100,000 euros per year. The few responses to the consultation after it had been published, came from Germany a few weeks ago (DK and PVD), the Netherlands and some European associations (EPSM and EPIF). At least the general tone was very critical or even negative. Somehow the topic is apparently not yet properly on the agenda in the industry throughout Europe.

Methodology bypassing the market

And now (finally) the good news: The Commission will probably not manage to avoid a thorough revision of the proposal. This will give the politicians time to think things over again properly. What has happened?

One of the most common reasons why ministers with PhDs in Germany lose their office and titles before their term is up are copyright infringements through plagiarism in the preparation of their doctoral theses (Guttenberg, Schavan; currently being looked at: Family Secretary Giffey). Other people’s findings were presented as flashes of genius without referencing their true source. Embarrassing, but not punishable, on the other hand, is misunderstanding other people’s ideas. This can be due to the source not having been properly understood or simply not read correctly. The consequence: a deduction of points but no disqualification. However, the situation becomes problematic if an entire theory – or, as in this case, the proposal to amend a directive – is erected on the basis of such a misunderstanding. The European Commission has obviously made this mistake.

The proposed methodology for the collection of the required data is based on the nomenclature of credit transfers and direct debits as laid down in the Single European Payments Area Regulation (“SEPA Regulation” 260/2012). This Regulation mainly contains technical rules for SEPA credit transfers and direct debits (IBAN, BIC and other standards). The methodology of the proposal is therefore tailored to payment account-based interbank payment transactions and is also suitable for this purpose. For the card business with its aggregated and multi-polar payment chains between the relevant PSPs (issuers and acquirers), the methodology is no longer appropriate. So, is the methodology then suitable for recording XB payment data in the e-commerce sector?

The Commission mistakenly assumes that credit transfers and direct debits play the main parts in this context. In relation to its proposal it states:

Recently, more than 90% of online purchases from European consumers were settled via credit transfers, direct debits and card payments.

Even if this statement was correct for domestic e-commerce transactions in some member states, the proposal relates to XB e-commerce. This is not mentioned here. In the analysis of the impact assessment, however, the statement is clarified (with reference to the same sources):

94% of payments for cross-border online purchases use electronic payments, credit or debit cards, or prepaid cards.

The cited sources do not present data on actual use, but rather the preferences of the consumers surveyed. Well, this can be ignored if one assumes that the preferences selected in the survey correspond to some extent with the actual behaviour of the payers. The second mistake is more serious. In its proposal, the Commission tacitly assumes that “electronic payments” probably means credit transfers and direct debits. However, the source to which the Commission refers (an analysis by the International Post Corporation) states exactly the opposite. In XB e-commerce, consumers from 31 countries surveyed (including non-EU countries) prefer in the first instance so-called “alternative” payment methods which are not executed via bank accounts, such as PayPal and Alipay (39%), followed by card payments (37%). Credit transfers achieve only 5%, direct debits are summarised under the section “other”. The second source cited in the draft directive (DPD Group e-shopper barometer 2017) reaches comparable conclusions for the EU: a clear preference for “digital wallets” and card payments.

This means: The methodology should focus on the payment instruments that are most prominent in XB e-commerce transactions. These are – on the basis of the sources cited – definitely not bank account-related credit transfers and direct debits. My proposal: as a first step, the Commission should draw up a thorough inventory of the EU payment transaction market in XB e-commerce with the help of experts familiar with this matter. On the basis of these results, an appropriate methodology for data collection could then be developed. Fortunately, this will take time. And that is the good news. Because: Time will tell.

The Federal German Council has already boldly stated that it doubts whether the objective (combating VAT fraud) can be achieved by the present proposal

in a proportionate and expedient manner.

Additionally, it fears an unmanageable data salad at CESOP level and advises to critically appraise the statement of the European Data Protection Supervisor. Perhaps the European Council will follow now, recommending that the Commission simply bury the immature proposal inconspicuously and quietly. Close CESOP! I would, of course, attend the funeral service and then, I promise, forever hold my peace on this topic in this blog.

 

Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia / Dmytro

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CESOP | PayTechLaw

CESOP öffne Dich: Die neue Datensammelwut der Kommission

Zuerst die schlechte Nachricht: Die Kommission hat erneut den grenzüberschreitenden (= Cross Border; einfacher: „XB“) Zahlungsverkehr in der EU ins Visier genommen. Sie plant eine supranationale Datenbank „CESOP“ (Central Electronic System of Payment Information“) unter ihrer Aufsicht. Ab Januar 2022 werden dort die XB-Zahlungsdaten sämtlicher Zahlungsdienstleister (Kreditinstitute, Zahlungs- und E-Geldinstitute) in der EU gespeichert. Das erklärte Ziel ist die Erleichterung der Fahndung nach Mehrwertsteuerbetrügern im XB-E-Commerce.

Vor wenigen Wochen hatte die Kommission die EU-Verordnung 2019/518 erfolgreich über die Bühne gebracht. Die Verordnung regelt die Preisgleichheit für XB-Zahlungen in Euro mit den inländischen Transaktionen auch für Zahlungsdienstleister in den Nicht-Euroländern. Zusätzlich müssen die Karten-Issuer und die Anbieter von Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC) den Karteninhaber am POS oder Geldautomat über die Konditionen ausführlich informieren. In diesem Blog haben wir die Verordnung, die insbesondere für das Kartengeschäft erhebliche Auswirkungen hat, schon diskutiert (siehe meinen Beitrag zur Reg. 924).

Supranationale Vorratsdatenspeicherung in CESOP

Bei dem neuen Vorschlag aus der adventlichen Kommissionsküche (Dezember 2018) geht es diesmal um Zahlungsdaten, die auf der Zahlungsempfängerseite personen- und firmenbezogen erfasst werden: Betrag, Datum und Uhrzeit, Name und MwSt-ID. Denn dort sitzen die potentiellen MwSt-Betrüger, Händler die im grenzüberschreitenden E-Commerce Waren und Dienstleistungen anbieten. Der Betrug wird grob auf jährliche 5 Mrd. € geschätzt. Heute müssen die nationalen Steuerbehörden bei Verdachtsmomenten in einer Steuerprüfung die betreffenden Zahlungsdaten bei den involvierten Zahlungsdienstleistern anfordern und mit ihren Kollegen in anderen Mitgliedsstaaten kooperieren. Das ist aber ein mühsames Vorgehen für die betroffenen Beamten. Es ist natürlich einfacher und wesentlich effizienter, wenn zukünftig alle XB-Zahlungsdaten in einer supranationalen Datenbank auf Vorrat gespeichert werden. Außerdem eröffnet eine derartige, von den Zahlungsdienstleistern permanent gefütterte Datenbank ganz neue Möglichkeiten, dem Betrüger mittels künstlicher Intelligenz auf die Spur zu kommen.

Der Dateninput soll von beiden Marktseiten geliefert werden. Die Zahlungsdienstleister (PSPs) des Zahlers und des Zahlungsempfängers werden verpflichtet. Betroffen sind fast alle PSPs, die im Anhang der PSD2 genannt werden, mit Ausnahme der PSPs im Bargeldein- und auszahlungsgeschäft und die „neuen“ PSPs (Zahlungsauslöse- und Kontoinformationsdienste). Im Idealfall wird jede Zahlungstransaktion also von zwei Seiten gemeldet. In der CESOP-Datenbank werden dann die Daten „gematcht“ und bereinigt. Im Hinblick auf das Ziel der ganzen Aktion suchen die Steuerfahnder eigentlich nur die C2B-Zahlungsdaten, die durch E-Commerce anfallen: Zahler ist Konsument im Mitgliedsstaat A, Zahlungsempfänger ist Händler in Land B (Mitgliedsstaat oder nicht). Da man diese Nutzerrolle einem Datensatz nicht ansehen kann, werden vorsorglich einfach alle Daten erfasst, auch B2B, C2C usw. Sogar die XB-Kartenzahlungen am physischen POS sind betroffen. Das ist natürlich unsinnig, da es nur um die Bekämpfung des MwSt-Betruges im E-Commerce geht.

Wie lauten auch wieder die Prinzipien der DSGVO? Genau: Datensparsamkeit und Datenminimierung. Eine weitere Frage: Warum reicht eine Vorratsdatenspeicherung auf dezentraler Ebene bei den betroffenen PSPs nicht aus? Die Übermittlung sämtlicher Telekommunikationsdaten durch die Telcos an Europol wäre sicherlich auch ein sehr effektives Mittel gegen böse Islamisten. Nicht nur die Terrorismusgefahr, sondern auch die Steuerhinterziehung heiligt anscheinend viele Mittel.

Amoklauf der Datenschützer? Bislang noch nicht. Der Europäische Datenschutzbeauftragte hat den Vorschlag ohne erhobenen Zeigefinger artig durchgewinkt.

Methodische Schwächen

Abgesehen von diesen grundsätzlichen Fragen zeigt der Vorschlag methodische Schwächen. Damit der CESOP nicht platzt, soll es einen Schwellenwert für die Datenerfassung geben: 25 XB-Zahlungen an den gleichen Zahlungsempfänger pro Quartal pro PSP. An sich sinnvoll, wäre es nicht, dass dieser Schwellenwert nicht nur für den PSP des Zahlungsempfängers, sondern auch für den PSP des Zahlers gilt. Das Datenvolumen, das von dem PSP der Zahler geliefert wird, ist abhängig von seiner Größe bzw. von der Marktkonzentration der PSPs in einem Land und damit willkürlich.

Ein weiterer Schwachpunkt ist die Annahme, dass die Ansässigkeit des Zahlers und des Zahlungsempfängers in einem Mitgliedsstaat mit dem nationalen Sitz des jeweiligen PSP identisch ist. Demgegenüber steht ein zentrales Ziel mehrerer regulatorischer Aktionen der EU aus der Vergangenheit, gerade die länderübergreifende Inanspruchnahme der PSP innerhalb der EU als einheitlichen Zahlungsverkehrsraum zu fördern. Die Folge: Viele de facto (und mehrwertsteuerrechtlich) inländischen Transaktionen werden hier de jure zu XB-Transaktionen und umgekehrt. Beispiel: Karteninhaber und Händler in Österreich, aber Acquirer in Deutschland.

Amoklauf der betroffenen (zigtausenden) PSPs in der EU? Es gab öffentliche Konsultationen im Vorfeld des Dezember-Vorschlags und nach der Veröffentlichung. Im Vorfeld war der Respons aus der Branche minimal (3 Stellungnahmen). Ein PSP schätzte die internen Kosten für die Datenerfassung und -bereitstellung allerdings auf 100.000 Euro pro Jahr. Die wenigen Stellungnahmen in der Konsultation nach der Veröffentlichung kamen vor einigen Wochen aus Deutschland (DK und PVD), aus den Niederlanden und von einigen europäischen Verbänden (EPSM und EPIF). Immerhin: Der Tenor war sehr kritisch bis ablehnend. Irgendwie ist das Thema anscheinend noch nicht so richtig europaweit in der Branche angekommen.

Methodik am Markt vorbei

Und nun (schluss)endlich die gute Nachricht: Die Kommission kommt wohl nicht daran vorbei, den Vorschlag gründlich zu überarbeiten. Damit gewinnen die Politiker Zeit, sich die Sache noch mal gründlich zu überlegen. Was ist passiert?

Einer der häufigsten Gründe, dass Minister mit Doktortitel in Deutschland vorzeitig Amt und Titel verlieren, sind Urheberrechtsverletzungen durch Plagiat bei der Erstellung ihrer Doktorarbeiten (Guttenberg, Schavan; derzeit am Pranger: Familienministerin Giffey). Fremde Erkenntnisse wurden ohne erforderliche Quellenhinweise als eigene Geistesblitze präsentiert. Peinlich, aber nicht strafbar, ist allerdings das fehlerhafte Rezipieren des fremden Gedankengutes. Man hat die Quelle entweder inhaltlich nicht verstanden oder einfach nicht (richtig) gelesen. Die Folge: Punkteabzug, aber keine Disqualifikation. Es wird aber problematisch, wenn man ein ganzes Theoriegebäude  – oder wie in diesem Fall den Vorschlag zur Änderung einer Richtlinie – auf einer fehlerhaften Rezeption errichtet. Dieser Fehler ist der Europäischen Kommission offensichtlich unterlaufen.

Die vorgeschlagene Methodik für die Erfassung der notwendigen Daten basiert auf der Systematik von Überweisungen und Lastschriften gemäß der Verordnung über den einheitlichen Euro-Zahlungsverkehrsraum („SEPA-Verordnung“ 260/2012). Die Verordnung enthält vorwiegend technische Vorschriften für SEPA-Überweisungen und Lastschriften (IBAN, BIC und sonstige Standards). Die Methodik des Vorschlags ist also auf den zahlungskontenbasierten Interbankenzahlungsverkehr zugeschnitten und dafür ohne weiteres geeignet. Für das Kartengeschäft mit seinen aggregierten und multipolaren Zahlungsketten zwischen den betroffenen PSPs (Issuer und Acquirer) passt die Methodik schon nicht mehr. Ist die Methodik also geeignet für die Erfassung von XB-Zahlungsdaten im E-Commerce?

Die Kommission geht irrtümlicherweise davon aus, dass Überweisungen und Lastschriften hier die Hauptrolle spielen. Im Kontext des Vorschlags schreibt sie:

In jüngster Zeit wurden mehr als 90% der von europäischen Verbrauchern getätigten Online-Käufe mittels Überweisungen, Lastschriften und Kartenzahlungen getätigt.

Auch wenn die Aussage für den inländischen E-Commerce in manchen Mitgliedsstaaten vielleicht stimmen würde, es geht im Vorschlag um XB-E-Commerce. Davon ist hier nicht die Rede. In der Analyse der Folgenabschätzung wird die Aussage (mit Verweis auf die gleichen Quellen) aber präzisiert:

94% of payments for cross-border online purchases use electronic payments, credit or debit cards, or prepaid cards.

In den zitierten Quellen werden keine Daten der tatsächlichen Nutzung, sondern Präferenzen von befragten Endverbrauchern präsentiert. Okay, das kann man durchgehen lassen, wenn man davon ausgeht, dass die angekreuzten Präferenzen mit dem tatsächlichen Verhalten der Zahler einigermaßen übereinstimmen. Der zweite Fehler ist schwerwiegender. Die Kommission nimmt im Vorschlag stillschweigend an, dass mit „electronic payments” wohl Überweisungen und Lastschriften gemeint sind. Die Quelle, worauf die Kommission sich bezieht (eine Analyse der International Post Corporation), besagt aber genau das Gegenteil. Im XB-E-Commerce präferieren Konsumenten aus 31 untersuchten Ländern (auch außerhalb der EU) in erster Instanz sog. „alternative“ Zahlungsmethoden, die gerade nicht über Bankkonten ausgeführt werden, wie PayPal und Alipay (39%), gefolgt von Kartenzahlungen (37%). Überweisungen erzielen nur 5%, Lastschriften laufen unter „sonstiges“. Die zweite im Richtlinienentwurf zitierte Quelle (E-shopper barometer 2017 der DPD-Gruppe) kommt zu vergleichbaren Ergebnissen für die EU: Eine eindeutige Präferenz für „digital wallets“ und Kartenzahlungen.

Ergo: Die Methodik soll sich auf die Zahlungsinstrumente richten, die im XB-E-Commerce dominieren. Das sind – auf Basis der zitierten Quellen – jedenfalls nicht bankkontobezogene Überweisungen und Lastschriften. Mein Vorschlag: Als erster Schritt sollte die Kommission eine gründliche Bestandsaufnahme des EU-Zahlungsverkehrsmarktes im XB-E-Commerce von mit der Materie vertrauten Sachverständigen erstellen lassen. Auf Basis dieses Ergebnisses könnte dann eine entsprechende Methodik für die Datenerfassung erstellt werden. Das wird erfreulicherweise dauern. Und das ist die gute Nachricht. Denn: Kommt Zeit, kommt Rat.

Ein Rat hat sich bereits mutig aus der Deckung gewagt. Der Bundesrat bezweifelt, ob das Ziel (Bekämpfung des MwSt-Betruges) mit dem vorliegenden Vorschlag

auf verhältnis- und zweckmäßige Art und Weise erreicht werden kann.

Außerdem befürchtet er einen nicht mehr handhabbaren Datensalat auf CESOP-Ebene und rät zu einer kritischen Würdigung der Stellungnahme des Europäischen Datenschutzbeauftragten. Vielleicht folgt jetzt ein europäischer Rat, der der Kommission empfiehlt, den unausgereiften Vorschlag einfach unauffällig und leise zu beerdigen. CESOP schließe Dich! Ich würde selbstverständlich zur Trauerfeier gehen und, versprochen, in diesem Blog dazu für immer schweigen.

 

Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia / Dmytro

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.