Cloud-Computing Cloud Computing | | PayTechLaw

Cloud computing – outsourcing into a “cloud”

Cloud computing is playing an increasingly important role as digitalisation progresses, including in the financial sector. When using cloud services, regulated institutions must comply with the regulatory requirements regarding outsourcings. This is reason enough for PayTechLaw to briefly present some of the key aspects of the framework conditions applicable in this area. We should already mention at this point that in practice some uncertainties remain in respect of the application of the regulatory requirements. But there is a glimmer of hope – so it’s worth reading on!

What is cloud computing?

The European Banking Authority (EBA) defines “cloud services” or “cloud computing” in its Recommendations on outsourcing to cloud service providers as follows:

Services provided using cloud computing, that is, a model for enabling ubiquitous, convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g. networks, servers, storage, applications and services) that can be rapidly provisioned and released with minimal management effort or service provider interaction.

You can find further information on cloud computing e.g. on the website of the Federal Office for Information Security.

Regulatory framework

The use of cloud services by regulated payment service providers and e-money issuers will regularly constitute outsourcing in the regulatory sense.

The regulatory requirements applicable to material outsourcings are essentially set out in AT 9 of the BaFin Circular on Minimum Requirements for Bank Risk Management (MaRisk) (current version of MaRisk only available in German). In its circular Supervisory Requirements for IT in Financial Institutions, BaFin clarifies under item II. 8, no. 52 that the aforementioned requirements must also be observed when using cloud services.

Additionally, since 1 July 2018, the EBA Recommendations on outsourcing to cloud service providers (see above) must be observed when using cloud services.

MaRisk, the circular on Supervisory Requirements for IT in Financial Institutions and the EBA recommendations apply directly only to credit institutions and financial services institutions. In practice, however, it can be assumed that BaFin also expects payment institutions and e-money institutions to adhere to the aforementioned regulatory framework when using cloud services.

The regulatory framework applies regardless of whether the cloud services used are a public cloud, a private cloud, a community cloud or a hybrid cloud (for the relevant definitions, please refer to Section 2, no. 3 of the EBA Recommendations).

Materiality analysis

Regulated institutions wishing to use cloud services must first check whether the intended use of cloud services amounts to a material outsourcing from a risk perspective. This review should be carried out taking into account in particular the criteria set out in Section 4.1 of the EBA Recommendations.

Requirements for outsourcing agreements

If the use of the cloud service amounts to a material outsourcing, the outsourcing agreement concluded with the respective cloud service provider must contain, among other things, the regulations  listed in AT 9 para. 7 and 8 of the MaRisk. These include, in particular, the following:

  • specifying and, if applicable, differentiating the services to be provided by the cloud service provider;
  • determining appropriate information and auditing rights of the internal audit department as well as the external auditors of the institution;
  • establishing unrestricted information and auditing rights for the competent supervisory authorities (in particular BaFin);
  • if applicable, instruction rights for the institution;
  • data protection regulations and regulations regarding other security requirements;
  • regulations regarding the further outsourcing of activities by the cloud service provider to subcontractors.

It is to be expected that particularly the implementation of the regulatory requirements with regard to the information and auditing rights of the institutions and the competent supervisory authorities in the outsourcing agreements will regularly lead to discussions with cloud service providers (especially those domiciled in a country outside the European Economic Area).

Information and auditing rights of the institutions

The information and auditing rights of the institutions and of the auditors instructed by them at the cloud service provider’s premises may generally not be restricted. In particular, they must be able to carry out on-site inspections. A contractual obligation of the institutions to initially refer to standardised audit reports of the cloud service providers would constitute an inadmissible restriction on the information and auditing rights of the institutions.

However, BaFin and EBA allow certain simplifications with regard to the actual performance of such audits by the outsourcing institution. The outsourcing institution does not necessarily have to use its own auditing resources. BaFin and EBA regard audits within the framework of so-called “pooled audits” as permissible. In these cases, joint audits are carried out by several customers of the cloud service provider by one customer or by a third party commissioned by one of these customers. Additionally, under certain conditions, a certification of the cloud service provider by a recognised certifier and external or internal audit reports provided by the cloud service provider may be sufficient as the relevant audit procedures.

Information and auditing rights of supervisory bodies

The outsourcing institution must contractually agree with the cloud service provider unlimited information and auditing rights of the responsible supervisory authorities regarding the outsourced activities and processes. This includes, in particular, the possibility of on-site inspections.

Obligation to notify the intention of a material outsourcing to cloud service providers

Institutions have to notify the relevant regulatory authorities of their intention to outsource material services to cloud service providers. For payment institutions and e-money institutions this obligation is stipulated in § 26 sect. 2 of the Payment Services Supervision Law. In our opinion, a corresponding duty of disclosure for credit institutions can be found in Section 4.2 of the EBA Recommendations.

Uncertainties in the application of the regulatory requirements – the glimmer of hope

The regulatory requirements for the use of cloud services are still unclear in a number of aspects. However, there is a glimmer of hope that the uncertainties will be eliminated in the foreseeable future. BaFin has announced that it will publish a special orientation guide later this year which aims to inform institutions in detail about the regulatory requirements regarding the use of cloud services. We are curious to see what this will contain. PayTechLaw will keep you informed.

 

Titelbild / Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cloud-Computing | Cloud computing | PayTechLaw

Cloud-Computing und Cloud-Dienste – Auslagerungen in die „Wolke“

Cloud-Computing spielt im Zuge der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung auch im Finanzsektor eine immer wichtigere Rolle. Bei der Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten haben die beaufsichtigten Institute die regulatorischen Vorgaben für Auslagerungen einzuhalten. Grund genug für PayTechLaw, einige wichtige Aspekte der hierfür geltenden Rahmenbedingungen kurz vorzustellen. Schon an dieser Stelle sei gesagt, dass für die Praxis einige Unsicherheiten bei der Anwendung der regulatorischen Vorgaben verbleiben. Aber es gibt einen Hoffnungsschimmer – lesen Sie weiter!

Was ist Cloud-Computing?

Die europäische Bankaufsichtsbehörde (European Banking Authority, kurz EBA) definiert „Cloud-Dienste“ bzw. „Cloud-Computing“ in ihren Empfehlungen zur Auslagerung an Cloud-Anbieter wie folgt:

Dienste, die mithilfe von Cloud-Computing erbracht werden, d.h. ein Modell, das ortsunabhängigen, komfortablen und bedarfsgesteuerten Netzwerkzugriff auf einen gemeinsamen Pool konfigurierbarer Rechenressourcen ermöglicht (wie Netzwerke, Server, Speicher, Anwendungen und Services) und sich schnell sowie mit einem Mindestmaß an Verwaltungsaufwand oder Interaktion des Dienstleisters implementieren und freischalten lässt.

Weitergehende Informationen zum Cloud-Computing finden Sie z.B. beim Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik.

Regulatorischer Rahmen

Die Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten durch beaufsichtigte Zahlungsdienstleister und E-Geld-Emittenten wird regelmäßig eine Auslagerung im aufsichtsrechtlichen Sinne darstellen.

Die für wesentliche Auslagerungen geltenden regulatorischen Anforderungen sind im Wesentlichen in AT 9 des BaFin-Rundschreibens Mindestanforderungen an das Risikomanagement der Banken (MaRisk) dargestellt. In ihrem Rundschreiben Bankaufsichtsrechtliche Anforderungen an die IT (BAIT) stellt die BaFin unter Ziffer II. 8., Rz. 52 klar, dass die vorgenannten Anforderungen auch bei der Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten zu beachten sind.

Zudem sind seit dem 1. Juli 2018 bei der Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten die Empfehlungen der EBA zur Auslagerung an Cloud-Anbieter, kurz EBA-Empfehlungen (s.o.) zu beachten.

MaRisk, BAIT und die EBA-Empfehlungen gelten unmittelbar nur für Kreditinstitute und Finanzdienstleistungsinstitute. Für die Praxis ist aber davon auszugehen, dass die BaFin auch von Zahlungsinstituten und E-Geld-Instituten erwartet, dass sich diese bei der Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten an den vorgenannten regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen orientieren.

Die regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen gelten grundsätzlich unabhängig davon, ob es sich bei den genutzten Cloud-Diensten um eine öffentliche Cloud, eine private Cloud, eine Community-Cloud oder eine Hybrid-Cloud handelt (vgl. zur Definition der vorgenannten Begriffe Abschnitt 2, Rz. 3 der EBA-Empfehlungen).

Wesentlichkeitsbewertung

Beaufsichtigte Institute, die Cloud-Dienste nutzen wollen, haben vor Durchführung der Auslagerung zu prüfen, ob es sich bei der beabsichtigten Nutzung der Cloud-Dienste um eine unter Risikogesichtspunkten wesentliche Auslagerung handelt. Diese Prüfung ist insbesondere unter Berücksichtigung der in Abschnitt 4.1 der EBA-Empfehlungen aufgeführten Kriterien durchzuführen.

Anforderungen an Auslagerungsverträge

Sofern es sich bei der Nutzung des Cloud-Dienstes um eine wesentliche Auslagerung handelt, muss der mit dem Cloud-Anbieter geschlossene Auslagerungsvertrag u.a. die in AT 9 Tz. 7 und 8 der MaRisk genannten Regelungen enthalten. Hiernach sind im Rahmen des Auslagerungsvertrags insbesondere folgende Vereinbarungen zu treffen:

  • Spezifizierung und ggf. Abgrenzung der vom Cloud-Anbieter zu erbringenden Leistung;
  • Festlegung angemessener Informations- und Prüfungsrechte der Internen Revision sowie externer Prüfer des Instituts;
  • Festlegung uneingeschränkter Informations- und Prüfungsrechte für die zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörden (insbesondere BaFin);
  • Weisungsrechte für das Institut;
  • datenschutzrechtliche Regelungen und Regelungen zu sonstigen Sicherheitsanforderungen;
  • Regelungen zur Weiterverlagerung von Tätigkeiten durch den Cloud-Anbieter an Subunternehmer.

Insbesondere bei der Umsetzung der regulatorischen Vorgaben im Hinblick auf die Informations- und Prüfungsrechte der Institute und der zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörden in den Auslagerungsverträgen dürfte es regelmäßig zu Diskussionen mit Cloud-Anbietern (insbesondere mit solchen, die ihren Sitz in einem Staat außerhalb des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums haben) kommen.

Informations- und Prüfungsrechte für die Institute

Die Informations- und Prüfungsrechte der Institute und der von den Instituten beauftragten Prüfer beim Cloud-Anbieter dürfen grundsätzlich nicht beschränkt werden. Es muss insbesondere die Möglichkeit von Vor-Ort-Prüfungen bestehen. Eine vertragliche Verpflichtung der Institute, zunächst auf standardisierte Prüfungsberichte der Cloud-Anbieter zurückzugreifen, würde die Informations- und Prüfungsrechte der Institute in unzulässiger Weise beschränken.

BaFin und EBA lassen jedoch gewisse Erleichterungen im Hinblick auf die tatsächliche Durchführung von Prüfungen durch das auslagernde Institut zu. Das auslagernde Institut muss nicht zwangsläufig eigene Prüfungsressourcen einsetzen. Als zulässig erachten BaFin und EBA Prüfungen im Rahmen von sog. „Pooled Audits“, bei denen gemeinsame Prüfungen von mehreren Kunden des Cloud-Anbieters durch einen Kunden oder durch einen von diesen Kunden beauftragten Dritten durchgeführt werden. Zudem kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine Zertifizierung des Cloud-Anbieters durch einen anerkannten Zertifizierer und externe oder interne Prüfungsberichte, die vom Cloud-Anbieter zur Verfügung gestellt werden, als Prüfungsverfahren ausreichend sein.

Informations- und Prüfungsrechte für die Aufsicht

Das auslagernde Institut hat mit dem Cloud-Anbieter uneingeschränkte Informations- und Prüfungsrechte der Aufsichtsbehörden bezüglich der ausgelagerten Aktivitäten und Prozesse vertraglich zu vereinbaren. Dies umfasst insbesondere auch die Möglichkeit von Vor-Ort-Prüfungen.

Pflicht zur Anzeige der Absicht einer wesentlichen Auslagerung an Cloud-Anbieter

Institute haben die Absicht der Auslagerung von wesentlichen Diensten an Cloud-Anbieter den zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörden anzuzeigen. Dies ergibt sich für Zahlungsinstitute und E-Geld-Institute aus § 26 Abs. 2 des Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetzes (ZAG). Eine entsprechende Anzeigepflicht für Kreditinstitute ist u.E. dem Abschnitt 4.2 der EBA-Empfehlungen zu entnehmen.

Unsicherheiten bei der Anwendung der regulatorischen Vorgaben – der Hoffnungsschimmer

Die regulatorischen Vorgaben für die Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten sind derzeit noch in einigen Punkten unklar. Es gibt jedoch einen Hoffnungsschimmer, dass die Unsicherheiten in absehbarer Zeit beseitigt sein werden. Die BaFin hat angekündigt, im Laufe dieses Jahres eine spezielle Orientierungshilfe zu veröffentlichen, in der die Institute detailliert über die aufsichtsrechtlichen Anforderungen an die Nutzung von Cloud-Diensten informiert werden sollen. Man darf gespannt sein. PayTechLaw wird Sie jedenfalls informiert halten.

Titelbild / Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.