Interchange Fee Regulation | PayTechLaw

Interchange Fee Regulation: Good things come to those who wait?

PayTechLaw already had a look at the Interchange Fee Regulation last year. Back then, I looked into queer cards and universal cards. This entry will also deal with the Interchange Fee Regulation but this time it will examine the differences between debit card and credit card transactions; an important topic as there are subtle but very relevant distinctions for the cardholder.

If you are one of those people who does not yet pay exclusively with their mobile phone, it is worth taking a look at the “old-fashioned” plastic payment card in your wallet. If this is not a really old card, you will usually find the word “debit” or “credit” printed on the card (less common: “commercial” or “prepaid”). With this, your card-issuing bank (“issuer”) indicates that the card issued to consumers has been classed as a debit or credit card in accordance with the EU Interchange Fee Regulation  (IFR 2015). This distinction is important as the IFR has imposed different upper limits for the IF income of your card issuer: a maximum of 0.3% for credit card transactions and a maximum of 0.2% for debit card transactions with consumer cards.

And it is not just visually that your card has been assigned to one of the categories, but also with a data field in the chip of the card. This begs the question as to why and for whom this information is relevant? In the past, card accepting merchants were obliged to accept all cards of a certain card brand (e.g. Visa or Mastercard) according to the rules of the card systems (the so-called honour-all-cards-rule; HACR). According to the IFR, which came into force several years ago, merchants are now able to differentiate here. For example, they may only accept the cheaper debit and prepaid cards of a card system (0.2% IF) and reject the more expensive credit cards (0.3% IF) or the even more expensive company cards (“commercial card” without an upper IF limit imposed by law).

Although this was a clever idea of the European Commission in terms of competition theory, this is actually mere theory and it looks very different in practice. Most retailers do not want to annoy their customers by rejecting specific cards from the same “brand”. Merchants would also have to clearly indicate at the checkout that, for example, they accept Visa debit cards but not Visa credit cards or company cards. From a customer’s point of view this would be an incomprehensible discrimination. For the issuer, however, the classification is important since they receive 50% more IF income for a payment with a card classed as a “credit” card than for a payment with a debit card. The IFR therefore contains clear rules for the issuer as to when they may mark the card issued by them or the transactions with such card as “credit”, “debit” or “commercial”.

So what is a debit card?

Let’s start with the debit card as the most widely used card. What characterises a debit card? The answer is simple: a card which causes payments to be debited directly from a current account. But what does “directly” mean? Is a day’s delay still direct? Does it have to be a current account? Does it have to be an account with a bank? Could it also be a savings account? Does the card issuer have to be the same as the account-providing institution? Does the account have to be in credit? This shows that the answer does not seem to be that simple after all. In the first proposal of the IFR in 2013, the Commission proposed the following definition (Art. 2 No. 4):

A debit card transaction means a:

card payment transaction included with prepaid cards linked to a current or deposit access account to which a transaction is debited in less than or 48 hours after the transaction has been authorised/initiated.

In accordance with this, if the account is debited more than 48 hours later, this then constitutes a credit card transaction. The Commission’s proposal led to an interesting discussion as to whether the decisive characteristic should be the delay. A delay in the settlement of one minute could increase the issuer’s IF income by 50%: an open invitation for circumventions. What should we do? If a regulator or legislator does not manage to get the object of desire under control by way of a definition, the definition is dispensed with and it is simply turned into a catch-all provision. Then there is no escape from this conglomeration. In the final version of the IFR (2015), the dilemma was solved in a similar way. All payments that are not credit card transactions were simply declared to constitute debit card payments (Art. 2 No. 4). It would appear that credit cards were easier to capture in a definition than debit cards. The following definitions were finally agreed upon (Art. 2 No. 5 or 4):

A credit card transaction means a card-based payment transaction:

where the amount of the transaction is debited in full or in part at a pre agreed specific calendar month date to the payer, in line with a prearranged credit facility, with or without interest.

A debit card transaction means a card-based payment transaction:

including those with prepaid cards that is not a credit card transaction.

The card experts among you will know exactly what the Commission wants to achieve: transactions with charge cards (delayed debit), which are due cumulatively and in full (100%) on a set monthly date and which are generally debited from a payment account by way of direct debit, as well as transactions with “real” credit cards (revolving credit), which are converted into an interest-bearing loan as of a specified calendar day, are considered “credit card transactions”. This also becomes clear when reading Recital 17:

There are two main types of credit cards available on the market. With deferred debit cards, the total amount of transactions is debited from the cardholder account at a pre-agreed specific date, usually once a month, without interest to be paid. With other credit cards, the cardholder can use a credit facility in order to reimburse part of the amounts due at a later date than specified, together with interest or other costs.

 

Insufficient definition of a credit card transaction

However, the definition of a credit card transaction contained in Art. 2 No. 5 is not very precise and does not accurately and sufficiently cover the existing market conditions. Let us take a closer look at the legal definition contained in the IFR.

The first thing to note is that the translation of the English source text into the German version is imprecise. The English version states that:

The amount of the transaction is debited in full or in part at a pre-agreed specific calendar month date to the payer…

But the German version only refers to a specified calendar day. The English wording would suggest, particularly through the insertion of the word “month”, that reference is not made to a specific calendar day but to a monthly recurring calendar day, as is also common practice in the card business. In accordance with this, a specific monthly calendar day would need to be agreed between the cardholder and the issuer (e.g. the 15th calendar day of each month). However, we assume that the source text prevails.

As stated above, the requirement is that on a pre-agreed monthly calendar day, the full amount or part thereof is “debited to the payer”. What happens then if there is no debit on this calendar day but if instead, 100% of the accumulated amount is converted into a revolving credit? Would this mean that this card payment does not constitute a credit card payment? Or what happens if the (partial) amount is not debited from the payer in accordance with the definition, but from a third party (e.g. a son has provided his father’s account for any debits relating to his credit card payments)? Or what happens if a cardholder transfers the amount owed to the issuer in cash (this option actually existed in the past, for example, if a cardholder paid a visit to strip club and accidentally paid by credit card and, understandably, did not want this transaction to appear on the bank statement).

In practice, there would therefore be plenty of credit card transactions (0.3% IF) that do not meet the definition criteria contained in Art. 2 No. 5 of the IFR. Strictly speaking, these transactions would then fall under the catch-all provision that is debit card transactions (0.2% IF). It can, of course, be assumed that this consequence, which is due to the inadequate definition of what constitutes a credit card payment, was not intended by the Commission.

In spite of the uncertain definitions, it is clear that following two criteria must be fulfilled for there to be a credit card transaction: (i) a credit facility (from the date the transaction is booked) and (ii) a specific calendar month day for the (partial) payment obligation of the cardholder. Both must be agreed in advance (i.e. before the transaction) between the issuer and the cardholder. Everything else falls into the “debit” category.

The three-day debit card

A concrete example: Is it possible to class a card transaction that is, in accordance with the general terms and conditions of the issuer (which is not an insignificant credit institution), “valued 3 days after the date of receipt (booking date) at the bank in the current account” as a credit card transaction? The criterion “credit facility” is fulfilled (3 days). Is there a specific calendar month date for the debit? It could, of course, be argued that “3 days after booking date” is specific. According to this logic, any transactions that are, for example, valued on the booking date (with crediting taking place within a few hours) could also be considered to constitute credit card transactions. This would make the catch-all provision of the “debit card” meaningless as there would then only be credit card transactions. In my opinion, the requirement of there being a “debit on a specific calendar day” in order for a payment to constitute a credit card payment is not fulfilled. Apparently, the bank in this case took its guidance from the draft of the IFR from 2013, which refers to a delay of at least 48 hours. The bank has recently transformed this alleged “credit card” (under the general terms and conditions) into a debit card. All transactions are now booked to the current account on the day of receipt. However, all old debit cards which still have the word “credit” printed on them, will not be exchanged. This could now mean that such an incorrectly labelled card is rejected by a merchant who only accepts payments with a debit card of this card system as the card (incorrectly) appears to be a credit card. As I mentioned before, this is all mere theory as I, at least, don’t know of any merchant in Germany who uses this discretion provided by the IFR.

The unconventional company card

It appears that the definitions of the individual card types in the IFR encourage “unconventional” interpretations. I would like to add one final example. The so-called company or commercial cards are excluded from the upper limits imposed on IF. According to Art. 2 No. 6, a commercial card is:

any card-based payment instrument issued to undertakings or public sector entities or self-employed natural persons which is limited in use for business expenses where the payments made with such cards are charged directly to the account of the undertaking or public sector entity or self-employed natural person.

The definition unequivocally states that in the case the card is issued to a company, any payments with this card must be debited “directly from the undertaking’s account”. In Germany, several issuers now issue company cards (visually and electronically branded as “commercial”), which, however, are not debited from the company’s account but from the private account of the respective company employee (cardholder). At the same time, the company accepts liability for the settlement with the issuer. There are even suitable liability exclusion insurance policies available to companies in order to minimise this risk. Allegedly, this practice is tolerated or has even been approved by BaFin, which is responsible for compliance with the IFR. However, the IFR is a regulation which applies throughout the EU and not an EU directive with national scope for interpretation. In Great Britain, for example, this “interpretation” of the definition of company cards is expressly prohibited. It would appear that with the IFR we have a regulation that is not applied uniformly throughout Europe. This is certainly not the purpose of a regulation and may lead to distortions of competition.

There is yet another problem. Despite the fact that the IFR has now been in force for almost four years, the European Central Bank still uses definitions of credit and debit cards for its payment statistics which differ from those contained in the IFR. These different definitions may lead to issuers correctly classing the transactions of a card under the IFR as “credit card payments” but reporting the same transactions – also correctly – as debit card transactions to the ECB to be included in the ECB’s statistics (or vice versa). However, this topic would take us too far at this point. For those of you interested, I refer to the PaySys Report No. 4-5 dated July 2018. All this goes to show is that precise and uniform definitions are a delicate undertaking, but still rather important.

 

Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw / Godschalk

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interchange Fee Regulation | PayTechLaw

Interchange Fee Regulation: In der Verzögerung lag der Genuss

Die Interchange Fee Regulation hat uns auf PayTechLaw bereits im letzten Jahr beschäftigt. Damals habe ich mich mit den Queer Cards und Universal Cards auseinander gesetzt. Der vorliegende Beitrag widmet sich Interchange Fee Regulation und den Unterschieden bei Debitkarten- und Kreditkartentransaktionen. Denn hier bestehen feine, aber in der Praxis für den Issuer und Karteninhaber wichtige Unterschiede.

Falls Sie noch nicht ausschließlich mit Ihrem Handy zahlen, lohnt sich ein Blick auf Ihre „altmodische“ Plastikzahlungskarte in Ihrem Portemonnaie. Falls es keine uralte Karte ist, finden Sie auf der Karte in der Regel das Wort „debit“ oder „credit“ aufgedruckt (seltener: „commercial“ oder „prepaid“). Damit kennzeichnet Ihre kartenherausgebende Bank („Issuer“), dass die an Verbraucher herausgegebene Karte gemäß der Interchange Fee Verordnung der EU (IF-VO 2015) als Debit- oder als Kreditkarte eingestuft wurde. Diese Unterscheidung ist wichtig, da die IF-VO unterschiedliche Obergrenzen für die IF-Einnahmen Ihres Kartenherausgebers festgelegt hat: maximal 0,3% für Kreditkartentransaktionen bzw. max. 0,2% für Debitkartentransaktionen mit Verbraucherkarten.

Nicht nur optisch ist Ihre Karte einer der Kategorien zugeordnet, sondern auch mit einem Datenfeld in dem Chip der Karte. Es stellt sich die Frage, warum und für wen diese Information eigentlich wichtig ist? Früher war der kartenakzeptierende Händler gemäß der Regel der Kartensysteme verpflichtet, sämtliche Karten einer bestimmten Kartenmarke (z. B. Visa oder Mastercard) zu akzeptieren (sog. Honour-All-Cards-Rule; HACR). Gemäß der seit einigen Jahren in Kraft getretenen IF-VO kann der Händler hier differenzieren. Er kann z.B. nur die für ihn preiswerteren Debit- und Prepaidkarten eines Kartensystems akzeptieren (0,2% IF) und die teureren Kreditkarten (0,3% IF) oder noch teureren Firmenkarten („commercial card“ ohne gesetzliche IF-Obergrenze) ablehnen.

Das war zwar wettbewerbstheoretisch ein schlauer Gedanke der Europäischen Kommission, in der Praxis aber graue Theorie. Die meisten Händler wollen ihre Kunden nicht durch Ablehnung spezifischer Karten mit dem gleichen „Brand“ verärgern. Der Händler müsste außerdem an der Kasse mit einem Schild noch deutlich darauf hinweisen, dass er z. B. Visa Debitkarten akzeptiert und die Visa Kreditkarte oder Firmenkarte ablehnt. Aus Kundensicht eine unverständliche Diskriminierung. Für den Issuer ist aber die Zuordnung wichtig, da er z.B. für eine Zahlung mit einer als „credit“ gekennzeichneten Karte 50% höhere IF-Einnahmen als bei der Zahlung mit einer Debitkarte kassiert. Die IF-VO enthält deshalb für den Issuer klare Regeln, wann er die von ihm herausgegebene Karte bzw. die Transaktionen mit der Karte als „credit“, „debit“ oder „commercial“ kennzeichnen darf.

Was ist eigentlich eine Debitkarte?

Fangen wir mit der Debitkarte als der am weitesten verbreiteten Karte an. Was kennzeichnet eine Debitkarte? Die Antwort wäre doch einfach: Eine Karte, deren Zahlungen direkt von einem Girokonto abgebucht werden. Aber was heißt „direkt“? Ist ein Tag Verzögerung noch direkt? Muss es ein Girokonto sein? Muss es ein Konto bei einer Bank sein? Darf es auch ein Sparkonto sein? Muss der Herausgeber der Karte identisch mit dem kontoführenden Institut sein? Muss das Konto im Plus sein? Die Antwort ist anscheinend doch nicht so einfach. Im ersten Aufschlag der IF-VO hat die Kommission 2013 folgende Definition (Art. 2 Nr. 4) vorgeschlagen:

Eine Debitkartentransaktion ist ein

Kartenzahlungsvorgang, der auch Guthabenkarten einschließt und an ein Kontokorrent- oder Einlagenkonto geknüpft ist, von dem die Zahlung maximal 48 Stunden nach ihrer Autorisierung/Veranlassung abgebucht wird.

Wenn die Abbuchung später als 48 Stunden erfolgt, würde demnach eine Kreditkartentransaktion vorliegen. Der Vorschlag der Kommission führte zu einer interessanten Diskussion, ob die zeitliche Verzögerung maßgeblich sein sollte. Eine Minute-Verzögerung im Settlement könnte die IF-Einnahmen des Issuers um 50% steigern: Eine offene Einladung zur Umgehung. Was tun? Wenn ein Regulierer bzw. Gesetzgeber sein Objekt der Begierde definitorisch nicht in den Griff bekommt, verzichtet man auf die Definition und macht daraus einfach einen Auffangtatbestand. Aus diesem Sammelsurium gibt es kein Entkommen mehr. In der Endfassung der IF-VO (2015) hat man das Dilemma ähnlich gelöst. Alle Zahlungen, die keine Kreditkartentransaktion sind, wurden schlichtweg zu Debitkartenzahlungen erklärt (Art. 2 Nr. 4). Anscheinend war die Kreditkarte definitorisch leichter als eine Debitkarte einzukreisen. Man einigte sich letztendlich auf folgende Definitionen (Art. 2 Nr. 5 bzw. 4):

Eine Kreditkartentransaktion ist ein kartengebundener Zahlungsvorgang,

bei dem der Betrag der Transaktion gemäß einer vorab vereinbarten zu verzinsenden oder zinsfreien Kreditfazilität an einem vorab vereinbarten bestimmten Kalendertag vollständig oder teilweise beim Zahler abgebucht wird.

Eine Debitkartentransaktion ist ein kartengebundener Zahlungsvorgang,

einschließlich kartengebundener Zahlungsvorgänge mit Guthabenkarten, der keine Kreditkartentransaktion ist.

Für die Kenner des Kartengeschäfts ist klar, worauf die Kommission hinaus will: Transaktionen mit Charge Cards (delayed debit), die kumuliert an einem monatlichen Stichtag zu 100% fällig sind und i.d.R. per Lastschrift von einem Zahlungskonto abgebucht werden und Transaktionen mit „echten“ Kreditkarten („revolving credit“), die ab einem bestimmten Kalendertag zu einem verzinsten Kredit umgewandelt werden, sind „Kreditkartentransaktionen“. Dies geht auch aus dem Erwägungsgrund 17 hervor:

Es gibt im Wesentlichen zwei Arten von Kreditkarten auf dem Markt. Bei Debitkarten mit Zahlungsaufschub wird das Konto des Karteninhabers zu einem im Voraus vereinbarten spezifischen Zeitpunkt, in der Regel einmal monatlich, mit dem gesamten Betrag der Transaktionen belastet, ohne dass Zinsen zu zahlen sind. Bei anderen Kreditkarten kann der Karteninhaber eine Kreditfazilität nutzen, um einen Teil der Beträge zu einem späteren als dem angegebenen Zeitpunkt zurückzahlen, zuzüglich Zinsen oder sonstiger Kosten.

Mangelhafte Definition einer Kreditkartentransaktion

Die Definition einer Kreditkartentransaktion gemäß Art. 2 Nr. 5 ist aber ziemlich ungenau, deckt die Marktgegebenheiten nicht präzise und umfassend ab. Schauen wir die Legaldefinition gemäß der IF-VO etwas genauer an.

Zuerst ist die Übersetzung des englischen Quellentextes in deutsche Sprache ungenau. Im Quellentext steht:

The amount of the transaction is debited in full or in part at a pre agreed specific calendar month date to the payer.

In der deutschen Übersetzung ist aber nur von einem bestimmten Kalendertag die Rede. Es ist zu vermuten, dass – bedingt durch das Hinzufügen des Wortes “month” – nicht ein bestimmter Kalendertag, sondern ein monatlich wiederkehrender Kalendertag gemeint ist, wie es auch der Praxis des Kartengeschäfts entspricht. Demnach müsste zwischen dem Karteninhaber und dem Issuer ein spezifischer monatlicher Kalendertag vereinbart werden (z. B. der 15. Kalendertag eines jeden Monats). Wir gehen aber davon aus, dass der Quellentext entscheidend ist.

An einem vorab vereinbarten monatlichen Kalendertag soll demnach eine Abbuchung des vollständigen Betrages oder ein Teil davon zu Lasten des Zahlers stattfinden („debited to the payer“). Was ist, wenn an diesem Kalendertag keine Abbuchung stattfindet, sondern der bis dahin aufgelaufene Betrag zu 100% in einen revolving credit verwandelt wird? Liegt in diesem Fall keine Kreditkartenzahlung mehr vor? Oder: Der (Teil-)Betrag wird nicht gemäß Definition beim Zahler abgebucht, sondern bei einem Dritten (z.B. Sohnemann hat für die Abbuchung seiner Kreditkartenzahlungen das Konto seines Vaters angegeben)? Oder: Der Karteninhaber übergibt den geschuldeten Betrag dem Issuer in Bargeld (diese Option gab es in der Vergangenheit tatsächlich, wenn der Karteninhaber z.B. versehentlich seinen Nachtclubbesuch per Kreditkarte gezahlt hat und diese Transaktion verständlicherweise nicht auf seinem Kontoauszug erscheinen sollte).

In der Kartenpraxis gäbe es demnach viele Kreditkartentransaktionen (0,3% IF), die die Definitionskriterien gemäß Art. 2 Nr. 5 der IF-VO nicht erfüllen. Strenggenommen müssten diese Transaktionen demnach in die Kategorie des Auffangtatbestandes der Debitkartentransaktionen (0,2% IF) fallen. Es ist natürlich davon auszugehen, dass diese Konsequenz, bedingt durch die mangelhafte Definition einer Kreditkartenzahlung, von der Kommission nicht beabsichtigt wurde.

Trotz definitorischer Unklarheiten müssen jedenfalls zwei Kriterien für eine Kreditkartentransaktion erfüllt sein: Eine Kreditfazilität (ab Buchungsdatum) und ein spezifischer Kalendermonatstag für die (Teil-)Zahlungspflicht des Karteninhabers. Beide müssen vorab (also vor dem Zeitpunkt der Transaktion) zwischen Issuer und Karteninhaber vereinbart sein. Alles andere fällt in die Kategorie Debit.

Die Drei-Tage-Debitkarte

Ein konkreter Fall: Kann man Kartentransaktionen, die gemäß der AGBs des Issuers (nicht unbedeutendes Kreditinstitut) „3 Tage nach dem Tag des Eingangs (Buchungstag) bei der Bank auf dem Girokonto valutiert“ werden, als Kreditkartentransaktionen durchgehen lassen? Bei dem Kriterium „Kreditfazilität“ kann ein Häkchen gesetzt werden (3 Tage). Liegt ein bestimmter Kalendertag im Sinne einer „specific calendar month date“ für die Abbuchung vor? Einer könnte natürlich argumentieren, dass „3 Tage nach Buchungstag“ auch spezifisch ist. Nach dieser Logik könnten die Transaktionen, die z.B. am Buchungstag valutiert werden (mit einer Kreditierung von wenigen Stunden) auch noch als Kreditkartentransaktion bezeichnet werden. Damit wäre der Auffangtatbestand „Debitkarte“ eine leere Trickkiste. Es gäbe nur Kreditkartentransaktionen. Die Voraussetzung „Abbuchung an einem bestimmten Kalendertag“ für eine Kreditkartenzahlung ist m.E. nicht erfüllt. Offensichtlich hatte die Bank sich noch an dem Entwurf der IF-VO aus 2013 orientiert, in dem von mindestens 48 Stunden-Verzögerung die Rede ist. Mitte September 2019 wird die Bank diese vermeintliche „Kreditkarte“ gemäß AGB nun in eine Debitkarte verwandeln. Die Umsätze werden dann am Tag des Eingangs auf dem Girokonto gebucht. Die heute noch mit dem Begriff „credit“ gekennzeichneten Debitkarten werden aber nicht umgetauscht. Jetzt könnte es einem blühen, dass die falsch gelabelte Karte von einem Händler, der nur Zahlungen mit einer Debitkarte dieses Kartensystems akzeptiert, die vermeintliche Kreditkarte ablehnt. Wie gesagt, graue Theorie, denn zumindest ich kenne keinen Händler in Deutschland, der diesen Spielraum der IF-VO nutzt.

Die eigenwillige Firmenkarte

Anscheinend laden die Definitionen der einzelnen Kartentypen in der IF-VO zu „eigenwilligen“ Interpretationen ein. Zum Schluss sei noch ein weiteres Beispiel erwähnt. Die sogenannten Firmenkarten sind von den IF-Obergrenzen ausgenommen. Gemäß Art. 2 Nr. 6 ist eine Firmenkarte

jedes kartengebundene Zahlungsinstrument, das an Unternehmen oder öffentliche Stellen oder selbständige natürliche Personen ausgegeben wird und dessen Nutzung auf geschäftliche bzw. dienstliche Ausgaben beschränkt ist, wobei die mit einer solchen Karte vorgenommenen Zahlungen direkt von dem Konto des Unternehmens oder der öffentlichen Stelle oder der selbständigen natürlichen Person abgebucht werden.

Die Definition besagt unmissverständlich, dass im Fall der Ausgabe an ein Unternehmen, die Verfügungen mit dieser Karte „direkt vom Konto des Unternehmens“ abgebucht werden müssen. Nun werden in Deutschland von mehreren Emittenten Firmenkarten (optisch und elektronisch als „commercial“ gekennzeichnet) herausgegeben, die aber nicht vom Firmenkonto, sondern vom Privatkonto des jeweiligen Firmenmitarbeiters (Karteninhaber) abgebucht werden. Das Unternehmen übernimmt allerdings die Haftung für den Ausgleich gegenüber dem Issuer. Es gibt sogar für die Unternehmen passende Haftungsausschlussversicherungen, um das Risiko zu minimieren. Angeblich soll diese Praxis von der BaFin, die für die Einhaltung der IF-VO zuständig ist, toleriert bzw. abgesegnet sein. Die IF-VO ist allerdings eine europaweite Verordnung und keine EU-Richtlinie mit nationalen Auslegungsspielräumen. In Großbritannien wird z. B. diese „Interpretation“ der Firmenkartendefinition ausdrücklich untersagt. Offensichtlich haben wir mit der IF-VO eine Verordnung, die europaweit nicht einheitlich befolgt wird. Das ist sicherlich nicht der Zweck einer Verordnung und führt gegebenenfalls zu Wettbewerbsverzerrungen.

Es gibt ein weiteres Problem. Obwohl die IF-VO mittlerweile fast vier Jahre in Kraft ist, handhabt die Europäische Zentralbank für ihre Zahlungsverkehrsstatistik weiterhin andere Definitionen einer Kredit- und Debitkarte, die von der Verordnung abweichen. Diese unterschiedlichen Definitionen können dazu führen, dass der jeweilige Emittent die Transaktionen einer Karte gemäß der IF-VO als „Kreditkartenzahlungen“ richtig klassifiziert, die gleichen Transaktionen aber – ebenfalls richtig – als Debitkartentransaktionen in der EZB-Statistik meldet (oder vice versa). Das Thema führt an dieser Stelle zu weit. Für interessierte Leser verweise ich auf den PaySys-Report Nr. 4-5 vom Juli 2018. Saubere, einheitliche Definitionen sind ein heikles Unterfangen, aber irgendwie doch wichtig.

 

Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw / Godschalk

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.