AML5-Update | PayTechLaw

AML5 update: 5th Anti Money Laundering Directive adopted

5th Anti Money Laundering Directive (AML5) tightens requirements for anonymous e-money and makes cryptocurrency platforms and wallet providers subject to money laundering law

Now it’s official: The 5th Anti-Money Laundering Directive (AML5) was published in the EU’s Official Journal on the 19 June 2018. The new directive will come into force on 9 July 2018 and is to be implemented by Member States by 10 January 2020. In March, we reported on the previous political agreement concerning the 5th Anti-Money Laundering Directive within the framework of the trialogue negotiations. The AML5 represents a significant tightening of the rules for the European Union in regard to the prevention of money laundering and the financing of terrorist acts. Of particular interest to the payment and FinTech industry are the changes regarding electronic money and cryptocurrencies.

AML5: Stricter requirements for electronic money

The 5th Anti-Money Laundering Directive further tightens the conditions under which electronic money products can be issued anonymously:

  • Limits for anonymous electronic money will be reduced further. The maximum top-up amount for e-money that can be issued anonymously will be reduced from 250 euros to 150 euros. In addition, the maximum cash redemption amount will be capped at only 50 euros. For German electronic money issuers, however, this does not change anything. German legislators have already set the limit to 100 euros and 20 euros respectively, which is far below the new European legal amount limits.
  • However, the usability of anonymous electronic money products for online payments will be severely limited. Online payments conducted via anonymous electronic money products will not be allowed to exceed 50 euros. This restriction is likely to make many electronic money products considerably less attractive.
  • Finally, acquirers may only process payments using anonymous prepaid cards from a third country if these cards were issued in the third country with similar restrictions.

New developments with regard to cryptocurrencies

The 5th Anti-Money Laundering Directive also extends the scope of money laundering law to include cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin and Ripple. Specifically, operators of platforms through which cryptocurrencies are traded and providers of wallets for cryptocurrencies will be obligated to abide by money laundering laws. They are thus subject to the requirements of money laundering law and in particular the KYC obligations.

What‘s next…

Even if the 5th Anti-Money Laundering Directive does not come into effect until 10 January 2020, issuers of anonymous electronic money products, cryptocurrency platform operators and wallet providers would be well advised to deal with the issue as soon as possible. The implementation measures cannot be implemented overnight. Issuers of anonymous electronic money products will have to adapt their products to the new legislation. As future obligated parties under the Anti-Money Laundering Act, cryptocurrency platform operators and wallet providers must get themselves in a position to fulfil the obligations required of them under the Anti-Money Laundering Act.

Titelbild / Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AML5-Update | PayTechLaw

AML5-Update: 5. Geldwäscherichtlinie erlassen

5. Geldwäscherichtlinie (AML5) verschärft Voraussetzungen für anonymes E-Geld und unterwirft Plattformen und Wallet-Anbieter für Kryptowährungen dem Geldwäscherecht

Jetzt ist es amtlich: Am 19. Juni 2018 wurde die 5. Geldwäscherichtlinie (AML5) im Amtsblatt der EU veröffentlicht. Die neue Richtlinie tritt am 9. Juli 2018 in Kraft und ist von den Mitgliedstaaten bis zum 10. Januar 2020 umzusetzen. Über die vorangegangene politische Verständigung zur 5. Geldwäscherichtlinie im Rahmen der Trilogverhandlungen hatten wir im März berichtet. Die AML5 führt zu einer erheblichen Verschärfung des europäischen Regimes zur Prävention von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung. Von besonderem Interesse für die Payment- und FinTech-Branche dürften die Änderungen in Bezug auf E-Geld und Kryptowährungen sein.

AML5: Verschärfte Anforderungen in Bezug auf E-Geld

Die 5. Geldwäscherichtlinie verschärft weiter die Voraussetzungen, unter denen E-Geld-Produkte anonym ausgegeben werden dürfen:

  • Die Betragsgrenzen für anonymes E-Geld werden weiter gesenkt. Der maximale Aufladebetrag für anonym ausgegebenes E-Geld wird von EUR 250 auf EUR 150 reduziert. Zudem beträgt der Höchstbetrag in Bezug auf den Rücktausch in Bargeld künftig nur noch 50 Euro. Für deutsche E-Geld-Emittenten ändert sich dadurch aber nichts. In § 25i KWG hat der deutsche Gesetzgeber bereits jetzt die Betragsgrenzen auf 100 Euro bzw. 20 Euro festgesetzt, die weit unter den neuen europarechtlichen Betragsgrenzen liegen.
  • Allerdings wird die Verwendbarkeit von anonymen E-Geld-Produkten für Online-Zahlungen stark beschränkt. Online-Zahlungen mit anonymen E-Geld-Produkten werden künftig nur noch bis 50 Euro möglich sein. Durch diese Beschränkung dürften viele E-Geldprodukte erheblich an Attraktivität verlieren.
  • Schließlich dürfen Acquirer Zahlungen mittels anonymer Prepaidkarten aus einem Drittland nur mehr dann abwickeln, wenn sie in einem Drittland mit vergleichbaren Beschränkungen ausgegeben wurden.

Neuerungen in Bezug auf Kryptowährungen

Mit der 5. Geldwäscherichtlinie wird auch der Anwendungsbereich des Geldwäscherechts auf Kryptowährungen wie Bitcoin oder Ripple ausgedehnt. Konkret sollen Betreiber von Plattformen, über die Kryptowährungen gehandelt werden, sowie Anbieter von Wallets für Kryptowährungen künftig Verpflichtete im Sinne des Geldwäscherechts sein. Damit unterliegen sie den geldwäscherechtlichen Anforderungen und insb. den KYC-Pflichten.

Was jetzt zu tun ist…

Auch wenn die Umsetzung der 5. Geldwäscherichtlinie  erst bis zum 10. Januar 2020 erfolgen muss, sollten Emittenten von anonymen E-Geld-Produkten sowie Plattform-Betreiber und Wallet-Anbieter für Kryptowährungen sich frühzeitig mit ihr befassen. Die Umsetzungsmaßnahmen sind nicht von heute auf morgen zu bewerkstelligen. Emittenten von anonymen E-Geld-Produkten werden ihre Produkte an die neue Gesetzgebung anpassen müssen. Plattformbetreiber und Wallet-Anbieter für Kryptowährungen haben als künftige Verpflichtete nach dem Geldwäschegesetz sämtliche Pflichten nach dem Geldwäschegesetz zu erfüllen.

 

Titelbild / Cover picture: Copyright © fotolia

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.