PayTechTalk 17 über die Entscheidungen des EuGH | CJEU

PayTechTalk 17 – the CJEU and what was three is now four

PayTechTalk 17 – the CJEU and what was three is now four
PayTechTalk

 
 
00:00 / 48:48
 
1X
 

Following CJEU rulings: IF-Regulation, prohibition of surcharging and regulations regarding the access to Arnex and others?

Right. At PayTechLaw we have been dealing with surcharging for a while now. Already in PayTechTalk 16 I chatted about surcharging with my colleague Susanne. Susanne has also discussed this payment in her latest blog entry for  payments under § 270a BGB. And this will probably not put an end to it, especially since the European Court of Justice (CJEU) added fuel to the surcharging fire with their sentences to three-party-schemes.

Three-party? Four-Party?

Requests for a preliminary ruling filed by the High Court of Justice in England and Wales marked the starting point in this issue. They dealt with whether three-party-schemes or closed-loop schemes (e.g. Amex) under certain circumstances could become a four-party-scheme and therefore fall under the IF-Regulation or the PSD2 access regulations.

And these CJEU decisions are not to be underestimated.

Decision C-304/16   

When a three party payment card scheme enters a co-branding agreement or an agreement with an agent it is considered to be a four party payment card scheme. Consequently, it falls under the limitations for internet bank remunerations provided by the regulation.

Decision C-643/16

The court rules that a three party payment card scheme that has entered into a co-branding agreement with a co-branding partner does not lose the benefit of the exception provided for by that provision and, therefore, is not subject to the obligation laid down in Article 35(1) of that directive in a situation where that co-branding partner is not a payment service provider and does not provide payment services within that scheme with respect to the co-branded products. However, a three party payment card scheme that makes use of an agent for the purposes of supplying payment services loses the benefit of that exception and, therefore, is subject to the obligation laid down in Article 35(1).

My guests in PayTechTalk 17

In Episode 17 of our Podcast PayTechTalk I discuss the exact impact and consequences of these rulings with my guests Dr. Hugo Godschalk, managing partner at the business consultancy PaySys Consultancy GmbH – and in the meantime member of the PayTechLaw-Team; Hanno Bender, lawyer and journalist for Lebensmittelzeitung amongst others – and blogger at hannobender and bargeldlosblog and with my esteemed colleague Susanne.

Enjoy PayTechTalk 17!

About Hanno Bender:

Hanno Bender is a lawyer and journalist. Since May 2014 he has worked for Lebensmittel Zeitung (LZ) as the head of their Law and Politics Department. Before that, he had worked for the Business Magazine “Der Handel” for thirteen years; first as business editor, then as head of the department “Finance and Law” and from 2008 on as member of the editor-in-chief´s office (“Der Blattmacher”). Both publications are published by the dfv Mediengruppe (www.dfv.de). In his free time, Hanno runs www.bargeldlosblog.de, a voluntary project which deals with issues regarding the whole payment world – everything between Apple Pay to XS2A.

Related Links:

Scott McInnes (Bird&Bird) on: 

CJEU rulings:

PAYSYS reports:

 

The original version of this podcast is German.

Titelbild / Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PayTechTalk 17 – der EuGH und aus Drei wird Vier

PayTechTalk 17 – der EuGH und aus Drei wird Vier

PayTechTalk 17 – der EuGH und aus Drei wird Vier
PayTechTalk

 
 
00:00 / 48:48
 
1X

Nach Entscheidungen des EuGH: IF-Regulierung, Surcharging-Verbot und Zugangsregelungen für Amex & Co.?

Richtig erkannt. Surcharging beschäftigt uns bei PayTechLaw schon seit einiger Zeit. Ich habe bereits in PayTechTalk 16 mit meiner Kollegin Susanne über Surcharging gesprochen. Susanne hat auch in ihrem letzten Blogbeitrag diese Zahlung für die Zahlung nach § 270a BGB aufgegriffen und eingehend beleuchtet. Und ein Ende ist nicht in Sicht, zumal der Europäische Gerichtshof (EuGH) mit seinen Entscheidungen zu Drei-Parteien-Schemes möglicherweise Öl ins Surcharging-Feuer gegossen hat.

Drei-Parteien? Vier-Parteien?

Ausgangspunkt hierfür waren Vorabentscheidungsersuchen, die vom High Court of Justice in England und Wales eingereicht worden waren. Konkret ging es darum, ob Drei-Parteien-Schemes oder auch closed-loop Schemes (z.B. Amex) unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen zu einem Vier-Parteien-Scheme werden und damit der IF-Regulierung unterfallen könnten bzw. den Zugangsregelungen der PSD2.

Und diese EuGH-Entscheidungen haben es in sich.

Entscheidung EuGH / C-304/16

Schließt ein Drei-Parteien-Kartenzahlverfahren eine Vereinbarung über Co-Branding oder eine Vereinbarung mit einem Vertreter, ist es deshalb als Vier-Parteien-Kartenzahlverfahren zu betrachten, so dass es den in der Verordnung vorgesehenen Obergrenzen für Interbankenentgelte unterliegt.

Entscheidung EuGH / C-643/16

In der Rechtssache C-643/16 kommt der Gerichtshof zu dem Ergebnis, dass ein Drei-Parteien-Kartenzahlverfahren, das eine Vereinbarung über Co-Branding abgeschlossen hat, nicht den in der Richtlinie vorgesehenen Zugangsanforderungen unterworfen ist, wenn der Co-Branding-Partner kein Zahlungsdienstleister ist und hinsichtlich des Produktangebots des Co-Brandings keine Zahlungsdienste in diesem Verfahren erbringt. Ein Drei-Parteien Kartenzahlverfahren, das sich für die Erbringung von Zahlungsdiensten eines Agenten bedient, unterliegt hingegen den in der Richtlinie vorgesehenen Zugangsanforderungen.

Meine Gäste in PayTechTalk 17

Was das genau bedeutet, und welche Konsequenzen diese Entscheidungen nach sich ziehen, bespreche ich in der 17. Episode von unserem Podcast PayTechTalk mit meinen Gästen Dr. Hugo Godschalk, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der Unternehmensberatung PaySys Consultancy GmbH – und mittlerweile Mitglied im PayTechLaw-Team; Hanno Bender, Volljurist und Journalist u.a. für die Lebensmittelzeitung – und Blogger auf hannobender und bargeldlosblog sowie meiner geschätzten Kollegin Susanne.

Ich wünsche Euch viel Spaß mit PayTechTalk 17!

 

Über Hanno Bender:

Hanno Bender ist Volljurist und Journalist. Seit Mai 2014 ist er als Leiter des Ressorts „Recht und Politik“ bei der Lebensmittel Zeitung (LZ) tätig. Zuvor war er 13 Jahre beim Wirtschaftsmagazin „Der Handel“ beschäftigt; zunächst als Wirtschaftsredakteur, dann in der Funktion des Ressortleiters „Finanzen und Recht“ und schließlich ab 2008 als Mitglied der Chefredaktion („Der Blattmacher“). Beide Publikationen werden von der dfv Mediengruppe (www.dfv.de) herausgegeben. Als Hobbyprojekt betreibt Hanno www.bargeldlosblog.de das sich mit Themen aus der Paymentwelt auseinandersetzt – von Apple Pay bis zum XS2A.

 

Weiterführende Links:

Beitrag von Scott McInnes (Bird&Bird):

EuGH-Entscheidungen:

PAYSYS-Reports:

 

Titelbild / Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.