PayTechTalk 39 | AMLD5 | PayTechLaw

PayTechTalk 39 – Draft law of the German Ministry of Finance regarding the implementation of AMLD5

In today’s episode of PayTechTalk, we – that is Christian, Hugo and myself – will be looking at the draft law presented by the German Ministry of Finance regarding the implementation of the Amendment to the Fourth EU Anti-Money Laundering Directive (Directive [EU] 2018/843) (= AMLD5). You can find a good overview of this draft legislation in our comparison, including our comments, in the following entry: “Draft law to implement the Fifth Anti-Money Laundering Directive – what is coming and what will remain the same?.

The draft law is essentially the implementation of the AMLD5. However, it also includes amendments of various other laws, particularly the German Banking Act (KWG). Today, in PayTechTalk 38, we would like to provide you with an overview of the key changes.

The draft law of the German Ministry of Finance regarding the implementation of the AMLD5

In today’s talk we are going to discuss the extension of the list of obliged persons, e.g. wallet providers, exchange platforms and foreign payment institutions as well as e-money institutions. In light of this we will also be looking at some new legal definitions, e.g. the term “crypto value”, which is set to be interpreted quite widely. Whatever hasn’t managed to get to a safe zone on the count of three, will be “arrested” as a crypto value.

We will also be talking about some of the wider consequences for the industry. Will Miles & More points be considered crypto values in the future? Or will air miles be classed as e-money? This could spark an interesting discussion. Consumers will be able to sit back and relax while following the debate but purveyors of loyalty programmes will not. It could mean they will be caught between a rock and a hard place. Another interesting aspect is that foreign institutions may in future face fines in Germany. Come again? Yes, BaFin may have a direct means of sanctioning companies domiciled in another EU Member State in future.

As we have only covered what we believe to be the key issues, we are interested in hearing whether there are any other points you believe we should be covering on PayTechTalk or on our blog. If anything springs to mind, please don’t hesitate to get in touch. We are always happy to receive questions and ideas for further topics.

Enjoy PayTechTalk 39!

 

Further information and links:

 

Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PayTechTalk 39 | AMLD5 | PayTechLaw

PayTechTalk 39 – Referentenentwurf des BMF zur Umsetzung der AMLD5

In der heutigen Episode von PayTechTalk widmen wir – Christian, Hugo und ich – uns dem Referentenentwurf des BMF zur Umsetzung der Änderungsrichtlinie zur Vierten EU-Geldwäscherichtlinie (RL [EU] 2018/843) (= AMLD5). Einen guten Überblick zu diesem Gesetzentwurf findet ihr in unserer kommentierten Vergleichsversion, die in dem Beitrag „Referentenentwurf zur Umsetzung der fünften Geldwäscherichtlinie – Was kommt, was bleibt?“ verlinkt ist.

Der Referentenentwurf dient in erster Linie der Umsetzung der AMLD5. Er sieht aber auch Änderungen in einer Reihe anderer Gesetzes vor, vor allem im KWG. In PayTechTalk 38 möchten wir Euch heute einen Überblick über die wesentlichen Änderungen geben.

Der Referentenentwurf des BMF zur Umsetzung der AMLD5

Was könnt ihr heute erwarten? Wir sprechen über die Erweiterung des Verpflichtetenkreises, z.B. Wallet Provider, Umtauschplattformen und ausländische Zahlungsinstitute und E-Geld-Institute. In diesem Zusammenhang beleuchten wir auch neue Legaldefinitionen, z. B. den Begriff „Kryptowert“, der sehr weit zu verstehen ist. Was bei drei nicht auf dem Baum ist, wird als Kryptowert „verhaftet“.

Wir sprechen über die Auswirkungen für die Branche. Sind Miles & More-Punkte künftig Kryptowerte? Oder fallen Prämienmeilen nicht eher unter den E-Geld-Begriff? Hieran könnte sich eine spannende Diskussion entfachen, die Verbraucher entspannt verfolgen können, Anbieter von Loyalty-Programmen dagegen eher nicht. Es könnte auf eine Wahl zwischen Pest und Cholera hinauslaufen. Interessant ist auch, dass ausländischen Instituten künftig möglicherweise Bußgelder aus Deutschland drohen. Wie bitte? Ja, die BaFin hat künftig möglicherweise direkte Sanktionsmaßnahmen gegen im EU-Ausland ansässige Unternehmen.

Da wir nur die aus unserer Sicht wesentlichen Punkte besprochen haben, sind wir gespannt, ob ihr noch weitere Punkte seht, über die wir auf PayTechTalk sprechen oder auf dem Blog schreiben sollen. Meldet Euch, wir freuen uns über Fragen und Themenvorschläge.

Viel Spaß bei PayTechTalk 39.

 

Weiterführende Informationen und Links:

 

Cover picture: Copyright © PayTechLaw

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.